Vegetarian keto breakfast casserole
Vegetarian breakfast made easy. Cook up this keto casserole on Sunday and you're all set for breakfast for the coming week. Easy, protein packed, and durable enough to eat on-the-go. Did we mention olives and tomatoes?
- ½ (1½ oz.) ½ (45 g) leekleeks
- 2 oz. 55 g green olives, pitted
- 12 12 large egglarge eggs
- 1 cup 240 ml heavy whipping cream
- 1¾ cups (7 oz.) 425 ml (200 g) mozzarella cheese, shredded
- 1 tsp 1 tsp onion powder
- 3 oz. 85 g cherry tomatoes
- ¼ cup (2⁄3 oz.) 60 ml (20 g) shredded Parmesan cheese
- salt and pepper
This recipe has been added to the shopping list.
Making low carb simple
- Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C).
- Rinse, trim and thinly slice the leek. Add to a greased baking dish along with olives.
- Add eggs, cream, shredded mozzarella, and onion powder to a medium-sized bowl. Whisk to combine and season with salt and pepper.
- Pour the egg mixture over the olives and leeks. Add tomatoes and parmesan cheese on top.
- Bake in the oven for 30–40 minutes or until golden brown on top and set in the middle. Cover with a piece of aluminum foil if the casserole is getting too brown around the edges before it's cooked through.
Peut-on congeler ce plat ?
As we see it eggs could be a part of a vegetarian diet. But not a vegan diet.
To substitute for every 1 cup of whipped cream:
mix 1/3 cup softened butter with 3/4 cup of milk
whip with an electric beater for best constitency
I'm sure there are other choices as well, but this was the first one I saw on google.
You can click the Nutrition+ tab under the list of ingredients for the full nutrition information.
Rennet is not eaten by vegetarians (or vegans of course).
The traditional source of animal rennet is the stomach lining of calves, or sometimes other ruminants such as goats, while their diets are still limited to milk. The lining of the baby animal contains chysomin, a naturally occurring enzyme, which helps digestion and milk absorption.
In the case of Parmesan, and most other cheeses where a vegetarian version of rennet hasn’t been substituted, that rennet is procured from the one of the four stomachs of a calf. The calf is killed so that the enzyme can be extracted from the stomach lining of the slaughtered animal. This is why vegetarians don’t eat rennet - vegetarians don’t eat ANY parts of animals. (As well as not eating animals, vegans won’t eat products that come from them either e.g. milk, eggs etc.)
After processing it, the rennet is added to the cheese mixture to curdle it. This stomach’s enzyme is so intrinsic to the production of Parmesan that it cannot legally be called Parmesan unless it contains cows milk, salt and calf rennet. This is why vegetarians (and vegans) don’t eat Parmesan cheese.